v4nividivici

life without smartphones

Even hunter gatherers use smartphones now.

The younger ones anyway

We saw a teenager hunter gatherer climbing a tree and asked him what he was doing. He said was getting internet reception.

When the other boys were talking, he was watching music videos on his phone and laughing & ...something feels insidious and sad about this. it's sad the way that shooting heroin is sad. the way people are hunched over, giggling to themselves, gone in another world, unable to put this thing down.

I think we’re missing out on life. I think we've missed out the last 14 years.

even "regular" flip phones were pretty annoying. Parents started expecting to be able to get ahold of you whenever

Like fuuuuuuck let me live

(but now, sans parents...they sound like fun again...with the buttons you have to press a bunch of times in order to write one letter?)

Why I Don’t Get Rid of My Smartphone:
Aka: things I like about it

I want to go back to an analog world

the only tech i enjoy is e-ink (remarkable, kindle...)


Dude I kinda wanna get a dumb phone or a light phone now. I just learned they exist. The light phone has the podcast feature and that’s all I care about. But the Nokia has whatsapp so I can still receive calls from Seb (i think? i hope the whatsapp isn't just...the chatting function only)


Things that are mainstream about me:

But like ...

like I feel I’m different because there are people who adopt a whole persona and these features come with it (also: veganism, recycling, and idk, like maybe...ice baths?)

They’re like reading books on minimalism and trying to memorize spiritual “facts” (oh and stoicism lol) & not even really processing thoughts they're just putting on this suit which is so popular it has even lost its meaning

But there are people who are also genuinely like me (tech guys who review e-ink and dumb phones for ex ; they get into the deets that matter)

I guess the difference is that I don’t call myself a digital minimalist or minimalist or yogi and I don’t make it my identity and wear it like a status/martyrdom symbol (it's weird but having less is a sign of privilege nowadays)


i'm thinking of getting a dumbphone for real now.

i want to keep my smartphone in a drawer and use it like a baby computer ; i have a good relationship with my computer where i feel like it helps me without holding me back from anything. the smartphone has the potential to be the same way...used when needed, sleeping quietly in my drawer for all other moments

we can turn this deadweight into a flotation device you guys